Consumer guide, checked against every provider's own page
Social tariff broadband eligibility: who qualifies, how the check works, and what to do if you are told no
Around six million UK households could claim cheaper broadband today, and roughly nine in ten of them do not. This guide explains exactly who qualifies, which benefit gets you in at which provider, how the DWP check works, and the six reasons applications fail. Every rule was checked against the provider's own page on 24 September 2026.
The short answer
You qualify for a broadband social tariff if the person named on the broadband account receives Universal Credit, Pension Credit, income-based Employment and Support Allowance, income-based Jobseeker's Allowance or Income Support. Universal Credit qualifies at every provider on Ofcom's list, and the other four qualify at every major provider (Ofcom, 2026b). Vodafone also accepts Personal Independence Payment, Disability Living Allowance and Reduced Earnings Allowance, and Hyperoptic accepts PIP, Attendance Allowance, Housing Benefit and Care Leavers' Support with evidence (Vodafone, n.d.; Hyperoptic, 2026). Providers confirm your benefit with the Department for Work and Pensions in minutes, with your permission, and the lowest price we could verify on a provider's own page is £12.50 a month (Virgin Media, n.d.).
Source: Ofcom (2026a), Pricing Trends 2026.
Check which networks reach your address
The 30 second check
Tick every benefit that the person whose name will be on the broadband account receives. We will show you which of the six national providers you qualify with, straight from their own published lists.
Tick a benefit to see your options.
This check uses each provider's own published eligibility list as at 24 September 2026. It is not an application, nothing you tick is stored, and the provider's own DWP check is what decides. Around 25 smaller regional providers also run tariffs; see Ofcom's full list.
Who qualifies, benefit by benefit
There is no single national rule. Ofcom sets the expectation, and each provider publishes its own list. Two things are true everywhere: Universal Credit qualifies at every social tariff Ofcom lists, and the person receiving the benefit needs to be the main person on the contract (Ofcom, 2026b).
The core five
Universal Credit, Pension Credit, income-based ESA, income-based JSA and Income Support are accepted by BT, Sky, NOW, Virgin Media, Vodafone and Hyperoptic (BT, n.d.; Sky, n.d.; NOW, n.d.; Virgin Media, n.d.; Vodafone, n.d.; Hyperoptic, 2026). Three details matter:
- BT means Guarantee Credit. BT's list says Pension Credit (Guarantee Credit), so Savings Credit on its own does not qualify there (BT, n.d.).
- Income-based, not contribution-based. Virgin Media states that ESA and JSA must be income-based rather than contributory, and where you receive both, the income-based part must be the larger (Virgin Media, n.d.). New style ESA and new style JSA are contribution-based. Most working-age claimants have moved to Universal Credit, which removes the problem.
- No other income at all? BT runs a Home Essentials No Income plan at £16.50 for Universal Credit claimants with zero income, with extra checks (Ofcom, 2026b; BT, n.d.).
The wider lists
Two national providers go further. Vodafone's list adds Reduced Earnings Allowance, Personal Independence Payment and what its page calls Disability Allowance, which we read as Disability Living Allowance (Vodafone, n.d.). Hyperoptic splits its list in two: List A benefits are checked with the DWP, while List B, which covers Attendance Allowance, Care Leavers' Support, Housing Benefit and Personal Independence Payment, is accepted with evidence such as an award letter or proof of a recent payment (Hyperoptic, 2026).
If PIP is your only qualifying benefit, Vodafone and Hyperoptic are your realistic routes. If Housing Benefit or Attendance Allowance is your only qualifying benefit, Hyperoptic is the only national name that accepts it, and only where its network reaches. Some regional providers accept Council Tax Reduction and other benefits; Ofcom's list links to every provider's own page (Ofcom, 2026b).
Figure 1
Show Figure 1 as a table
| Benefit | BT | Sky | NOW | Virgin Media | Vodafone | Hyperoptic |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Universal Credit | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y |
| Pension Credit | Y (Guarantee Credit) | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y |
| Income-based ESA | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y |
| Income-based JSA | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y |
| Income Support | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y | Y |
| Personal Independence Payment | - | - | - | - | Y | E |
| Disability Living Allowance | - | - | - | - | Y | - |
| Reduced Earnings Allowance | - | - | - | - | Y | - |
| Attendance Allowance | - | - | - | - | - | E |
| Housing Benefit | - | - | - | - | - | E |
| Care Leavers' Support | - | - | - | - | - | E |
Sky and NOW are open to existing customers only. Sources: each provider's social tariff page, checked 24 September 2026 (BT, n.d.; Sky, n.d.; NOW, n.d.; Virgin Media, n.d.; Vodafone, n.d.; Hyperoptic, 2026).
"Someone in your household" versus the account holder
Ofcom's guidance says that if you or someone in your household claims Universal Credit you could switch to any of the tariffs, and in the same breath that the person receiving the benefit needs to be the main person on the contract (Ofcom, 2026b). Both are true, and the second sentence is the one that decides applications. Eligibility belongs to the household; the check is run against the account holder. If your partner claims and the broadband is in your name, the DWP check comes back negative even though the household plainly qualifies.
The fix is simple but rarely explained. Either ask your provider to move the account into the claimant's name before applying, or apply as a new customer in the claimant's name. Virgin Media, Sky, NOW and Hyperoptic all state the account holder rule in their own words (Virgin Media, n.d.; Sky, n.d.; NOW, n.d.; Hyperoptic, 2026).
How the eligibility check works
Before August 2022, eligible customers had to send screenshots of their Universal Credit account or a letter from the Jobcentre, sometimes every month. On 22 August 2022 the Department for Work and Pensions launched a service that lets providers ask it directly, with the customer's permission, whether they receive a qualifying benefit. The DWP shares nothing beyond that confirmation (GOV.UK, 2022; Jackson, 2022). Virgin Media was the first to use it and Sky followed as the first major provider to sign up formally, with the government putting the saving at up to £180 a year at the time (Department for Work and Pensions, 2023).
Figure 2
What each provider asks for
| Provider | How you apply | What you need | Credit check? |
|---|---|---|---|
| BT | Online, or call 0800 800 150 (EE customers 0800 079 5122) | Your National Insurance number, so BT can check with the DWP | New customers yes, with a possible security deposit if your score is low; existing BT customers moving over are not credit checked |
| Sky | Call Sky; existing Sky Broadband customers only | Your National Insurance number for the DWP check | Not stated |
| NOW | Sign in and call; existing NOW Broadband members only | Proof that the account holder receives the benefit, when asked | Not stated |
| Virgin Media | Live chat or WhatsApp; new and existing customers | Full name, postcode and date of birth exactly as on your Virgin Media account, plus your consent for the DWP check | Not stated |
| Vodafone | Online registration form, then Vodafone's team processes the order within about a week | Eligibility check by Vodafone; a confirmation email follows | Yes, standard credit check |
| Hyperoptic | Call 0333 332 1138; new and existing customers, at eligible buildings | List A: name, date of birth and postcode for the DWP check. List B: award letter or proof of a recent payment | Not stated |
Sources: BT (n.d.); Sky (n.d.); NOW (n.d.); Virgin Media (n.d.); Vodafone (n.d.); Hyperoptic (2026).
Provider by provider: prices, contracts and re-checks
Prices below are from Ofcom's list, updated 17 August 2026, and each provider's own page on 24 September 2026. Ofcom's page puts the full range at £10 to £24 a month including mobile tariffs (Ofcom, 2026b). For the complete national table, including the regional networks, see our social tariffs guide.
| Provider and tariff | Price a month | Average speed | Open to | Contract and re-check |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BT Home Essentials No Income | £16.50 | 36 Mbps | Universal Credit claimants with no income; new and existing BT, EE and Plusnet customers | 12 months, cancel any time with no exit fee; eligibility re-checked at 12 months |
| BT Home Essentials 36 and 67 | £22 and £25 | 36 and 67 Mbps | New and existing BT, EE and Plusnet customers | As above; if you no longer qualify you move to the equivalent standard plan, which rises by £4 each 31 March |
| Sky Broadband Basics | £20 | 36 Mbps (or your existing full fibre speed up to 150) | Existing Sky Broadband customers only | 24 months, no early termination fee |
| NOW Broadband Basics | £20 (Brilliant Broadband £18 where Fab Fibre is unavailable) | 36 Mbps | Existing NOW Broadband members only | Rolling monthly, 31 days' notice, no early termination charge |
| Virgin Media Essential Broadband, Plus, and Plus with Flex | £12.50, £20 and £20 | 15 and 54 Mbps | New and existing customers on the Virgin Media network | 30 day rolling, no exit fees; re-checked every 12 months |
| Vodafone Fibre 2 Essentials | £20 | Up to 73 Mbps | New and existing customers | 12 months, no in-contract rise, no early termination fee; if you take no action at the end the price becomes £25 |
| Hyperoptic Fair Fibre 150, 500 and 1Gb | £13, £17 and £20 | 150, 500 and 1,000 Mbps | New and existing customers in Hyperoptic buildings | Monthly rolling, 30 days' notice, no exit fees; 30 days' notice if you stop qualifying |
Sources: Ofcom (2026b); BT (n.d.); Sky (n.d.); NOW (n.d.); Virgin Media (n.d.); Vodafone (n.d.); Hyperoptic (2026). Ofcom's list still shows a Hyperoptic Fair Fibre Fast tier at £12 for 50 Mbps; Hyperoptic's own page now starts at £13 for 150 Mbps, so we use the provider's figure.
Figure 3
Where Hyperoptic or KCOM reach your address, they offer the best value by a distance: Hyperoptic's £13 tariff is ten times faster than Virgin Media's £12.50 one. Use our speed calculator to work out what your household actually needs before choosing.
Six reasons you are told no, and the fix for each
A negative result from the DWP check rarely means you are not eligible. It usually means the details did not line up. These are the six causes we see most, with what to do about each.
The account is in someone else's name
The check runs against the account holder. If your partner or parent claims the benefit, ask the provider to change the account holder to the claimant, or apply fresh in the claimant's name. This is the single most common reason for a refusal.
Your details do not match the DWP record
Virgin Media asks for your name, postcode and date of birth exactly as they appear on your account, and the DWP compares them with its own record (Virgin Media, n.d.). A maiden name, a middle name in one place but not the other, or the old postcode after a house move will fail. Update your Universal Credit journal or the Pension Service first, then reapply.
Your benefit is not on that provider's list
PIP, DLA, Attendance Allowance and Housing Benefit are not on BT's, Sky's, NOW's or Virgin Media's lists. Vodafone accepts PIP, DLA and Reduced Earnings Allowance; Hyperoptic accepts PIP, Attendance Allowance, Housing Benefit and Care Leavers' Support with evidence (Vodafone, n.d.; Hyperoptic, 2026).
Your ESA or JSA is contribution-based
New style ESA and JSA are paid on your National Insurance record, not your income, and Virgin Media spells out that only the income-based versions count (Virgin Media, n.d.). If you also receive Universal Credit, apply with that instead, because it qualifies everywhere.
The provider only takes existing customers
Sky and NOW open their Basics tariffs to existing broadband customers only (Sky, n.d.; NOW, n.d.). If you are not with them, BT, Virgin Media, Vodafone and Hyperoptic all take new customers, and you can move with One Touch Switch by contacting only the provider you are joining.
Your claim is new, or a payment has just stopped
The DWP confirms what is on your record today. If your claim was accepted but the first payment is still pending, or a payment was paused for an assessment, wait for the record to catch up or send your award letter instead. Hyperoptic accepts a screenshot of your Universal Credit payments page showing your name, address and the most recent payment date (Hyperoptic, 2026).
Eligibility is not the same as acceptance
BT credit checks new customers and may ask for a security deposit if your score is low, and Vodafone runs a standard credit check on every application (BT, n.d.; Vodafone, n.d.). Existing BT customers moving to Home Essentials are not credit checked. If a credit check worries you, moving to your current provider's tariff, or reading our no credit check broadband guide, is the safer route.
After you are accepted
Social tariffs are ordinary broadband at a lower price, delivered over the same network with the same service standards (Ofcom, 2026b). Four things are worth knowing before you settle in.
- You will be re-checked. BT and Virgin Media run the eligibility check again every 12 months, and Vodafone confirms you still qualify at the end of its 12 month contract (BT, n.d.; Virgin Media, n.d.; Vodafone, n.d.).
- Know what happens if you stop qualifying. BT moves you to the equivalent standard plan at its lowest available price, which then rises by £4 each 31 March; Virgin Media moves you to its standard price; Vodafone's price becomes £25 if you take no action when it writes to you (BT, n.d.; Virgin Media, n.d.; Vodafone, n.d.). All three let you leave without a fee at that point instead.
- The price stays put while you qualify. Ofcom's page states the price will not go up mid-contract, BT confirms its Home Essentials price is exempt from the March rise, and Vodafone promises no in-contract increase (Ofcom, 2026b; BT, n.d.; Vodafone, n.d.). Standard deals rose by £2 to £4 a month in 2026 (Ofcom, 2026a).
- Some extras are excluded. Virgin Media's Volt benefits and its WiFi Max guarantee do not apply to Essential Broadband, and Vodafone's Together discount does not apply to Essentials (Virgin Media, n.d.; Vodafone, n.d.).
Your other protections are unchanged: automatic compensation for faults and missed appointments, the right to leave if your provider cuts your speed below what it promised, and a route to the ombudsman if a complaint stalls.
Why nine in ten eligible households still pay full price
Ofcom's 2026 Pricing Trends report counted 532,000 households on a broadband or mobile social tariff in June 2025, up 26,000 in a year but still only 8.6% of those eligible. Seven in ten eligible households had never heard of them, and the top ways people found out were social media, friends and family, and television, at 17%, 17% and 15%. Ofcom's response was to keep calling on providers to promote their tariffs (Ofcom, 2026a; Jackson, 2026).
Figure 4
The trend is at least in the right direction. In early 2022 about 55,000 households were on one, 1.2% of those eligible (Jackson, 2022; GOV.UK, 2022). The number of households claiming Universal Credit has meanwhile risen to around 6.2 million (Jackson, 2026), which is why the share barely moves even as take-up grows. BT holds 64% of fixed broadband social tariff customers, Sky 24%, Virgin Media O2 6%, Vodafone 4% and KCOM 2%, and TalkTalk remains the only major provider without one (Ofcom, 2026a; Jackson, 2026).
Figure 5
We publish this page even though providers pay no commission on social tariff sign-ups, and we think the awareness gap is the clearest consumer failure in UK broadband. If you know someone on Pension Credit or Universal Credit who is paying £25 or £30 a month, send them this page.
Not eligible? What to do instead
If nobody in your home receives a qualifying benefit, or the only network at your address has no social tariff, you still have options that beat paying an out-of-contract price.
Check you are not paying the loyalty price
Out-of-contract customers pay £7 to £9 a month more than in-contract customers on average (Ofcom, 2026a). Our out of contract prices guide shows the gap at each provider.
Compare the cheapest standard deals
Entry-level full fibre from altnets often undercuts the big brands. See this month's cheapest deals, sorted low to high with no paid placement.
Worried about a credit check?
Some providers run softer checks or none at all. Our no credit check broadband guide explains which, and what a security deposit means.
Need flexibility?
One month rolling deals cost a little more each month but carry no exit fee, which matters if your income is uncertain.
Mobile social tariffs
If you only need data, O2 Essential Plan and VOXI For Now cost £10 a month and SMARTY's social tariff and EE Basics £12, all 5G where available (Ofcom, 2026b). EE Basics is a 5 GB SIM, not home broadband (EE, n.d.).
Applying for an older relative?
Our guide to switching on behalf of an elderly parent or relative covers Pension Credit, account holder names and what to have ready.
See what your address can get
Every deal at your postcode, cheapest first. Independent, free, no signup.
Compare broadband dealsTest yourself
Four quick questions. Pick an answer to see how you did.
1. Your partner claims Universal Credit and the broadband is in your name. What happens at the DWP check?
Eligibility belongs to the household, but the check is run against the account holder. Move the account into the claimant's name, or apply in their name.
2. Which benefit qualifies at every social tariff on Ofcom's list?
Ofcom's guidance is that anyone whose household claims Universal Credit could switch to any of the listed tariffs.
3. What does the DWP send back to the provider?
The service was designed to share nothing beyond confirmation of eligibility at the time of the check.
4. Which two providers open their Basics tariffs to existing customers only?
Sky Broadband Basics and NOW Broadband Basics are for customers who already have their broadband. BT, Virgin Media, Vodafone and Hyperoptic take new customers.
Questions people ask
Am I eligible for a broadband social tariff?
You are eligible if you receive Universal Credit, Pension Credit, income-based Employment and Support Allowance, income-based Jobseeker's Allowance or Income Support, and you are the person named on the broadband account. Universal Credit qualifies at every social tariff on Ofcom's list. Vodafone also accepts PIP, DLA and Reduced Earnings Allowance, and Hyperoptic accepts PIP, Attendance Allowance, Housing Benefit and Care Leavers' Support with evidence.
Does someone else in my household claiming Universal Credit make me eligible?
Only if that person becomes the account holder. Ofcom describes eligibility as household-based, but every provider runs its check against the named account holder, so the claimant needs to be the person on the contract. Ask your provider to change the account holder, or apply in the claimant's name.
Does PIP qualify for a social tariff?
At Vodafone and Hyperoptic, yes. Vodafone lists Personal Independence Payment on its Essentials Broadband page, and Hyperoptic accepts it with evidence under its Fair Fibre Plan. BT, Sky, NOW and Virgin Media do not list PIP. Some regional providers on Ofcom's list also accept it.
How does the DWP eligibility check work?
With your permission, your provider sends your name, date of birth, postcode and the benefit you receive to the Department for Work and Pensions, which replies only with whether you receive it. The service launched on 22 August 2022 and usually takes minutes. You will normally need your National Insurance number.
Will I be credit checked?
It depends on the provider and whether you are already a customer. BT credit checks new customers and may ask for a security deposit, but does not credit check existing customers moving to Home Essentials. Vodafone runs a standard credit check on all applications. The DWP eligibility check itself is not a credit check.
Can I move to a social tariff mid-contract?
At your own provider, yes, and without an exit fee: Ofcom's guidance says you can switch to your provider's social tariff at any time free of charge. BT, Virgin Media and Hyperoptic all confirm existing customers can move with no cancellation charge. Moving to a different provider's tariff may mean paying your current provider's early exit fee, although several waive it for social tariff moves, so ask first.
What is the cheapest broadband social tariff?
Virgin Media's Essential Broadband at £12.50 a month for 15 Mbps was the lowest price we could verify on a provider's own page on 24 September 2026, with Community Fibre's Essential also £12.50 in London. Hyperoptic's Fair Fibre plan starts at £13 for 150 Mbps where its network reaches, which is far better value if speed matters to you.
What happens if I stop receiving the benefit?
Providers re-check eligibility, usually every 12 months. If you no longer qualify, BT moves you to its equivalent standard plan at the lowest available price, Virgin Media moves you to its standard price, and Vodafone's price becomes £25 if you do not respond to its email. All let you cancel without a fee at that point.
Do social tariffs go up in price each year?
Not while you remain eligible. Ofcom's guidance says the price will not go up mid-contract, BT exempts Home Essentials from its March rise, and Vodafone promises no in-contract increase. Standard deals rose by £2 to £4 a month in 2026.
Why do so few eligible households claim?
Awareness. Ofcom found that 70% of eligible households had never heard of social tariffs in October 2025, and only 8.6% of eligible households were using one in June 2025. Providers are not required to offer a tariff, and TalkTalk still does not.
Glossary
- Social tariff
- A cheaper broadband or mobile package available only to people receiving certain benefits. Some providers call them Essential or Basics plans. See the full entry in our Telecoms Acronym Decoder.
- Account holder
- The person named on the broadband contract and bills. Providers run the eligibility check against this person.
- DWP eligibility check
- A service run by the Department for Work and Pensions since August 2022 that confirms to a provider, with your consent, whether you receive a qualifying benefit.
- Income-based ESA or JSA
- Employment and Support Allowance or Jobseeker's Allowance paid because of low income, as opposed to the contribution-based or new style versions paid on your National Insurance record. Most claimants have now moved to Universal Credit.
- Guarantee Credit
- The part of Pension Credit that tops up a low income. BT's list requires it; Savings Credit alone does not qualify at BT.
- Early termination fee
- The charge for leaving a contract before its minimum term ends. Social tariffs listed by Ofcom carry none.
- One Touch Switch
- The process, in force since September 2024, under which your new broadband provider handles the whole switch and you contact only them.
About this page
Every eligibility rule on this page was read from the provider's own social tariff page on 24 September 2026, and every price from that page or from Ofcom's list, last updated 17 August 2026. Figures on take-up are from Ofcom's Pricing Trends 2026 report. Where a provider's wording is ambiguous, we say so and print the provider's own words. Our methodology, editorial policy and AI and automation disclosure explain how we work, and our corrections log lists every change we make. Spot an error? Tell us and we will fix it publicly.
We earn nothing from social tariff sign-ups. Providers do not pay commission on them, which is one reason so few comparison sites explain them properly.
Alex founded BroadbandSwitch.uk and leads its Data Lab research series. Connect on LinkedIn.
Adrian is Broadband Editor at BroadbandSwitch.uk and reviews our guides before they are published.
Cite this page
Journalists, advice workers, researchers and AI assistants are welcome to quote this guide. Please link to this page as the source.
APA 7th edition
Martin-Smith, A. J. (2026, September 24). Social tariff broadband eligibility: Who qualifies, how the check works, and what to do if you are told no. BroadbandSwitch.uk. https://broadbandswitch.uk/insights/social-tariff-broadband-eligibility/
Quote-ready summary
According to BroadbandSwitch.uk's analysis of provider eligibility rules and Ofcom's 2026 Pricing Trends report, anyone whose broadband account holder receives Universal Credit qualifies for every UK broadband social tariff, yet only 8.6% of eligible households use one and 70% have never heard of them (https://broadbandswitch.uk/insights/social-tariff-broadband-eligibility/).
References
- BT. (n.d.). BT Home Essentials broadband. Retrieved September 24, 2026, from https://www.bt.com/broadband/home-essentials
- Department for Work and Pensions. (2023). Easier for Sky customers to get cheaper internet thanks to DWP scheme [Press release]. GOV.UK. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/easier-for-sky-customers-to-get-cheaper-internet-thanks-to-dwp-scheme
- EE. (n.d.). EE Basics. Retrieved September 24, 2026, from https://ee.co.uk/basics
- GOV.UK. (2022, August 14). Cheaper broadband for struggling families [Press release]. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/cheaper-broadband-for-struggling-families-14-august-2022
- Hyperoptic. (2026). Fair Fibre Plan: Hyperoptic's social tariff broadband. Retrieved September 24, 2026, from https://www.hyperoptic.com/home-broadband/social-tariff
- Jackson, M. (2022, August 15). Gov make it easier to verify eligibility for cheap broadband social tariffs. ISPreview UK. https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2022/08/gov-make-it-easier-to-verify-eligibility-for-cheap-broadband-social-tariffs.html
- Jackson, M. (2026, February 26). Ofcom find 532,000 UK consumers taking social broadband and mobile tariffs. ISPreview UK. https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2026/02/ofcom-find-532000-uk-homes-taking-social-broadband-and-mobile-tariffs.html
- NOW. (n.d.). What is NOW Broadband Basics? Retrieved September 24, 2026, from https://www.nowtv.com/gb/help/article/now-broadband-basics
- Ofcom. (2026a, February 26). Pricing trends for communications services in the UK: 2026 report. https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-and-broadband/bills-and-charges/pricing
- Ofcom. (2026b, August 17). Social tariffs: Cheaper broadband and phone packages. https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-and-broadband/saving-money/social-tariffs
- Sky. (n.d.). Sky social tariffs. Retrieved September 24, 2026, from https://www.sky.com/help/articles/sky-social-tariff
- Virgin Media. (n.d.). Social tariff broadband: Our Essential packages. Retrieved September 24, 2026, from https://www.virginmedia.com/broadband/low-income-families
- Vodafone. (n.d.). Essentials Broadband for those on Universal Credit. Retrieved September 24, 2026, from https://www.vodafone.co.uk/broadband/essentials-broadband
Keep reading
- Every UK social tariff, verified by handPrices, speeds and how to apply, including the regional networks
- How to find social tariff broadbandWhere to look and who to ask
- The Loyalty PenaltyData Lab report No. 28 on what out-of-contract customers really pay
- Broadband for pensionersPension Credit, simple setups and landline changes