Vodafone vs BT broadband: cheaper at every tier, and the symmetrical upload is not on the line BT sells
Vodafone is the cheaper of the two at every comparable tier, by £93.76 across 24 months at 500 Mbps and £117.76 at the top, and its annual rise is 50p a month smaller than BT's. The headline difference is upload, and it depends entirely on your address. Vodafone's own full fibre page says it plainly: “In our CityFibre and Community Fibre areas, the upload and download speeds are the same.” BT sells over Openreach and nothing else, and on Openreach Vodafone publishes 27 Mbps of upload at 150 and 68 Mbps at 500, against BT's 49 Mbps at 300 and 73 Mbps at 500. The one thing BT sells that Vodafone does not is a figure on the card, a deadline to meet it, and a way out if it is missed. Compare both against every other provider at your address at broadbandswitch.uk/compare/.
See every provider at your address, not only these two
One postcode, every provider we can switch you to, sorted by price with the lowest first. On this pairing the postcode does more than usual: the network it returns changes Vodafone's upload speed, its top tier and its price.
IndependentLowest price firstLive, refreshed dailyPostcode only, nothing stored
Every number here carries the date it was checked, and here is where each one comes from. BT's six package prices, their download, upload and guaranteed speeds and the two future prices beside each one were read from BT's own deals page on 20 September 2026, and the five pound cap after a contract ends from BT's residential price guide dated 18 September 2026. Vodafone's two published Openreach upload speeds and the sentence about where symmetrical speeds apply were read the same day from Vodafone's own full fibre page; the annual increase and the speed clause are quoted from Vodafone's own contract terms effective November 2025; the social tariff from Vodafone's own page. Vodafone's tier prices here are our own hand-checked figures from 15 September 2026, because Vodafone advertises a from price and publishes its full list only in a separate price plan document. The speed code signatory list, the complaints figures, the social tariff list and the automatic compensation rates come from Ofcom, and the satisfaction scores from Which? and Trustpilot. The live comparison lower down is refreshed daily.
Which one to choose
Direct answer: Vodafone, on the money, and it is not close: Vodafone is the cheaper of the two at every comparable tier, and the gap widens as the term runs because its annual rise is smaller. Where CityFibre or Community Fibre reach, take it without thinking twice, because Vodafone sells symmetrical gigabit there for less than BT charges for a tenth of that upload. Choose BT if you want a guaranteed speed printed before you buy, because Vodafone has not signed Ofcom's voluntary code of practice on broadband speeds. BT has.
That is the answer, and the rest of this page is the working. One thing decides more of it than either brand does, which is why the postcode box sits above this section. Vodafone sells over three fibre networks, Openreach, CityFibre and Community Fibre, and BT sells over one. It matters more than a technical detail, because the upload speed, the top tier and the price all change with the network while the tariff name does not.
Cheaper everywhere, symmetrical somewhere
Choose Vodafone if the postcode puts you on CityFibre or Community Fibre, where it sells symmetrical gigabit for less than BT charges for a tenth of that upload. On Openreach it is still the cheaper of the two at every tier.
The speed written down before you buy
Choose BT if you want the speed written down before you buy. It prints a guaranteed minimum on every plan card, gives itself thirty days to meet it and lets you leave free if it cannot, and it caps what the price can become after the term.
Most of this is one shared line
Both sell over Openreach at most addresses, and so do a dozen other retailers, several of them cheaper than either.
The claim that sent us looking is on the page this one replaces, and on Vodafone's own advertising: symmetrical upload speeds. They exist, they are excellent, and Vodafone says where they are. In our CityFibre and Community Fibre areas, the upload and download speeds are the same. BT sells over Openreach and nothing else, so at an Openreach address the symmetry is not part of the comparison at all, and On the line these two share, BT's published upload is the higher of the pair: 73 Mbps at 500 Mbps against Vodafone's 68, and 49 Mbps at 300 against Vodafone's 27 at 150. The symmetrical speeds Vodafone advertises are real. They are on CityFibre and Community Fibre, which BT does not sell over at all, so at those addresses the comparison is not close.
Run your address through our comparison before you decide between two brands, read our full Vodafone review and our full BT review for either one on its own, and how we rank deals explains why we compare on the average across a term rather than on the headline.
Three networks against one, and which you are on
Direct answer: Vodafone sells over three fibre networks, Openreach, CityFibre and Community Fibre, and BT sells over one. It matters more than a technical detail, because the upload speed, the top tier and the price all change with the network while the tariff name does not. Vodafone does not name the network on any product page, so the only published way to tell before you order is the tier list you are offered.
Most head-to-heads on this site compare two retailers on one Openreach line, where the connection is identical and the only variables are price, contract and service. This one is different on one side only. BT is an Openreach retailer and nothing else. Vodafone is an Openreach retailer at most addresses, a CityFibre retailer at some and a Community Fibre retailer in parts of London, and the tariff names do not change between them.
| Vodafone | BT | |
|---|---|---|
| Networks sold over | Openreach, CityFibre and Community Fibre | Openreach only |
| Entry tier, and what it tells you | 74 Mbps on Openreach or Community Fibre, 80 Mbps on CityFibre | Always Openreach |
| Top tier | 2.2 Gbps where the network allows it | 900 Mbps |
| Upload at the top | up to 910 Mbps, on CityFibre and Community Fibre | 110 Mbps |
| Named on the product page? | No. Vodafone does not name the network on any product page, so the only published way to tell before you order is the tier list you are offered. | Not needed, there is only one |
| What changes with the network | Upload speed, top tier and price | Nothing, it is one network |
The practical problem is that Vodafone does not tell you which one you are being sold. There is no network lookup and no product page names a builder. The tells in the table above are the only published way to work it out short of running the address, and they are inferred from the tier list rather than stated by Vodafone. We would rather it said so plainly, because on this brand the network decides the upload speed.
Our guide to full fibre from every network covers who builds what, and the availability checker tells you which networks reach your address.
The symmetrical speeds, and where they actually are
Direct answer: In our CityFibre and Community Fibre areas, the upload and download speeds are the same. BT sells over neither of those networks. On the Openreach line the two do share, For our Openreach plans: Full Fibre 150 is 27 Mbps and Full Fibre 500 is 68 Mbps. BT publishes 49 Mbps at 300 and 73 Mbps at 500. On the line these two share, BT's published upload is the higher of the pair: 73 Mbps at 500 Mbps against Vodafone's 68, and 49 Mbps at 300 against Vodafone's 27 at 150.
This is the section that changed our mind about the page, so it is worth setting out carefully. Vodafone advertises upload speeds that match its downloads, up to up to 910 Mbps, and that is a genuine and unusual thing to be able to sell in the UK consumer market. It is also conditional, and Vodafone states the condition itself rather than burying it: In our CityFibre and Community Fibre areas, the upload and download speeds are the same.
CityFibre and Community Fibre are not networks BT sells over. BT is an Openreach retailer. So the comparison splits cleanly in two. At an address CityFibre or Community Fibre reaches, Vodafone offers something BT cannot match at any price, and this page is a short one: buy the Vodafone plan. At an Openreach address the symmetry is not available from either of them, and the question becomes what each publishes on the same line.
| Speed band | Vodafone plan | Vodafone upload | BT plan | BT upload |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Around 150 Mbps down | Vodafone Full Fibre 150 Openreach | 27 Mbps | BT Full Fibre 300 | 49 Mbps |
| Around 500 Mbps down | Vodafone Full Fibre 500 Openreach | 68 Mbps | BT Full Fibre 500 | 73 Mbps |
| Around 900 Mbps down | Vodafone Full Fibre 910 Openreach | Not published | BT Full Fibre 900 | 110 Mbps |
The honest summary of that table
On the line these two share, BT's published upload is the higher of the pair: 73 Mbps at 500 Mbps against Vodafone's 68, and 49 Mbps at 300 against Vodafone's 27 at 150. It is a modest difference in absolute terms and it runs the opposite way to the advertising, which is the only reason it is worth a section. The symmetrical speeds Vodafone advertises are real. They are on CityFibre and Community Fibre, which BT does not sell over at all, so at those addresses the comparison is not close. So the useful question is not which brand has the better upload. It is which network reaches your address, and only a postcode answers that.
One gap is worth naming, because it is the reason the third row of that table says not published: Vodafone stops publishing upload speeds above 500 Mbps on Openreach, and never publishes one per tier on the other two networks. BT prints an upload figure on all six of its plan cards. If upload is what you are buying, that difference in disclosure matters as much as the numbers themselves, and it is the same pattern as the speed guarantee two sections below.
Our guide to upload against download speed explains which of the two actually limits what you are doing, and broadband for large file uploads covers the heavier end.
What each one costs today
Direct answer: Vodafone runs from £24 for Full Fibre 150 to £28 for Full Fibre 910. BT runs from £26.99 for Fibre Essential to £31.99 for Full Fibre 900. Vodafone is the cheaper at every tier we can match, and its annual rise is 50p a month smaller.
| Package | Average download | A month | After one rise | After two | Average over 24 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vodafone Full Fibre 150 | 150 Mbps Openreach | £24 | £27.50 | £31 | £27.50 £660 over the term |
| Vodafone Full Fibre 500 | 500 Mbps Openreach | £27 | £30.50 | £34 | £30.50 £732 over the term |
| Vodafone Full Fibre 910 | 910 Mbps Openreach | £28 | £31.50 | £35 | £31.50 £756 over the term |
| Vodafone Full Fibre 910 on CityFibre | 910 Mbps CityFibre, symmetrical | £25 | £28.50 | £32 | £28.50 £684 over the term |
| BT Fibre Essential | 35 to 36 Mbps Part fibre | £26.99 | £30.99 | £34.99 | £31.41 £753.76 over the term |
| BT Fibre 1 | 50 Mbps Part fibre | £27.99 | £31.99 | £35.99 | £32.41 £777.76 over the term |
| BT Fibre 2 | 74 Mbps Part fibre | £27.99 | £31.99 | £35.99 | £32.41 £777.76 over the term |
| BT Full Fibre 300 | 300 Mbps Full fibre | £29.99 | £33.99 | £37.99 | £35.24 £845.76 over the term |
| BT Full Fibre 500 | 500 Mbps Full fibre | £29.99 | £33.99 | £37.99 | £34.41 £825.76 over the term |
| BT Full Fibre 900 | 900 Mbps Full fibre | £31.99 | £35.99 | £39.99 | £36.41 £873.76 over the term |
Read the CityFibre row twice
Vodafone's Full Fibre 910 on CityFibre is £25 a month, £684 across the term, which is £189.76 less than BT's Full Fibre 900 at £873.76. For that you get ten more megabits of download and, because it is a CityFibre address, up to 910 Mbps of upload against BT's 110 Mbps. If the postcode puts you there, the rest of this page is academic.
On set-up the two are close. BT's activation is £10, cut from £30 and shown on the price list as a saving. Vodafone's price plan puts the standard installation charge for a new line at £0, and its sales pages say an installation fee may apply, which is the less helpful of the two ways to say it. Both were advertising switching help when we read them: Vodafone advertises up to £300 of credit towards the fees your old provider charges, claimed after activation with proof of the final bill. BT's current offer is a bill credit on one tier rather than a reimbursement, so the two are not the same kind of thing.
One oddity on each ladder. Full Fibre 300 and Full Fibre 500 cost the same £29.99 a month, and Full Fibre 300 charges £20 more in the first month, so Full Fibre 300 is never the better buy at an address that can take both. And on Vodafone's, Full Fibre 150 was cheaper than both part-fibre plans in the table, and Full Fibre 910 on CityFibre cost £3 less than the same speed on Openreach, so the network at your address decides the price as much as the speed does. Neither is a trick, and both are the same phenomenon: a price list built around what an address can take rather than around a tidy ladder. Where two tiers are both available, check whether the faster one is also the cheaper one before you click.
Our price and contract checker totals any deal across its term, our hand-checked deals table carries every figure with the date it was verified, and our Vodafone review carries the tier prices with their own dates.
What 24 months actually costs
Direct answer: At 500 Mbps on the same Openreach line, £732 for Vodafone against £825.76 for BT: a difference of £93.76 across the term. At the top it is £756 against £873.76, a difference of £117.76. On CityFibre it is £684, which is £189.76 less than BT.
Both sums are built the same way and neither is an estimate: each provider's own opening price, its own contractual rise applied twice, six months at the opening price, twelve at the first increase and six at the second, plus any set-up charge. Both companies print the resulting future prices beside the plan before you sign, which is more than several of their competitors do.
| Vodafone Full Fibre 500 | BT Full Fibre 500 | |
|---|---|---|
| Advertised price | £27 | £29.99 |
| Set-up | £0 on a standard new line | £10, cut from £30 and shown on the price list as a saving |
| Annual rise | £3.50 each 1 April | £4 each 31 March |
| After the first rise | £30.50 | £33.99 |
| After the second | £34 | £37.99 |
| Total over 24 months | £732 | £825.76 |
| Average a month | £30.50 | £34.41 |
| Published upload | 68 Mbps | 73 Mbps |
| Guaranteed minimum | Not published before you buy | 425 Mbps, printed on the plan card |
The row that compounds is the annual rise. 50p a month sounds like nothing, and over one year it is six pounds. But it applies to the price you are already paying, every April, for as long as you stay, so a household that lets a contract roll for four or five years is paying Vodafone's smaller increase against BT's larger one the whole time. Vodafone is the cheaper of the two at every comparable tier, and the gap widens as the term runs because its annual rise is smaller.
Then the row that runs the other way, and it is the last line of the table. BT prints a guaranteed minimum download speed on the card you buy from. Vodafone does not publish one at all before you buy. What that is worth is the next section but one, and it is the only column on this page where BT is clearly ahead.
Our price and contract checker does this sum for any deal and any start month, and the cheapest deals ranks the whole market on the average across a term rather than on the headline.
The speed promise, and the one that is not there
Direct answer: Vodafone has not signed Ofcom's voluntary code of practice on broadband speeds. BT has. Vodafone publishes no guaranteed minimum speed before you buy: the figure arrives afterwards, in the Service Confirmation Letter. And the clause that does give a right to leave carves out the range Vodafone advertises. So on Vodafone's full fibre, which is the range it advertises, that speed-based right to leave does not apply at all. The one thing BT sells that Vodafone does not is a figure on the card, a deadline to meet it, and a way out if it is missed.
Take BT's side first, because it is short. BT publishes a guaranteed minimum speed on every plan and calls the promise its Stay Fast Guarantee: if speeds are not back to normal within thirty days it will let you leave without an early cancellation fee, and the figures are on the cards: 150 Mbps on Full Fibre 300, 425 on Full Fibre 500, 700 on Full Fibre 900, 25 on Fibre 1, 34 on Fibre 2 and 32 on Fibre Essential. You can read the number before you buy, you know what it is measured against, and the remedy is written down.
Vodafone's is a different shape and it takes some reading. It has not signed the Ofcom code that obliges signatories to give you a minimum figure at the point of sale and a right to leave if it is not met after thirty days. Ofcom's residential list names BT, EE, NOW Broadband, Plusnet, Sky, TalkTalk, Utility Warehouse, Virgin Media and Zen Internet, and Vodafone is not among them. Vodafone publishes no guaranteed minimum speed before you buy: the figure arrives afterwards, in the Service Confirmation Letter.
Vodafone's own clause, quoted in full
“Should your sync speed continuously or regularly fall significantly below the minimum guaranteed speed set out in your Service Confirmation Letter, with the exception of Vodafone Fibre to the Home Broadband, please contact us.” Read the exception in the middle of that sentence, because it is the part doing the work. The clause names no cure period either. It says you may leave if Vodafone is unable to resolve the issue, which leaves the timing open.
| Vodafone | BT | |
|---|---|---|
| Signed Ofcom's speed code? | No | Yes |
| Guaranteed minimum speed published before you buy | No. Vodafone publishes no guaranteed minimum speed before you buy: the figure arrives afterwards, in the Service Confirmation Letter. | Yes, on every plan card: 150 Mbps on Full Fibre 300, 425 on Full Fibre 500, 700 on Full Fibre 900, 25 on Fibre 1, 34 on Fibre 2 and 32 on Fibre Essential |
| What the promise is measured on | Sync speed, the speed to your router | Throughput against the printed figure |
| Time the provider gets to fix it | Not stated | Thirty days |
| Does it cover full fibre? | No, Vodafone's contract excludes it | Yes, it is the full fibre guarantee |
| Right to leave if unfixed | Yes, on the products the clause covers | Yes, without an early termination charge |
| Automatic compensation scheme | Yes, joined 3 November 2021 | Yes, joined 1 April 2019 |
Two things stop that being a hanging offence, and they should be said in the same breath. Vodafone is in Ofcom's automatic compensation scheme, so late repairs, missed appointments and delayed starts still pay out without asking. It is the speed promise specifically that is missing. And a speed guarantee is a clause most households never use: full fibre is reliable, and the number of people who will ever measure a shortfall, report it, wait out a cure period and then exercise an exit right is small. If you are one of them, this section is the whole page. If you are not, it is one row in a table where Vodafone leads most of the others.
Our guide to minimum guaranteed download speeds explains what each provider's promise is worth, whether poor speeds let you leave early covers the remedy, and our speed test records what you are actually getting with a timestamp.
The annual rise, where Vodafone is the cheaper
Direct answer: Both raise the price once a year and both publish the amount before you sign. Vodafone's contract says: “Your monthly plan charge will increase by £3.50 each year on 1st April.” BT's is £4 a month on 31 March 2027 and again on 31 March 2028. That is 50p a month in Vodafone's favour, compounding every April.
This is one of the few rows in a broadband comparison where the smaller number is unambiguously better and nothing is hidden behind it. Neither company indexes to inflation on a current contract, neither can surprise you with a different figure inside the term, and both print the resulting prices on the plan before you buy. The difference is simply the size: £3.50 against £4.
Older Vodafone contracts are on different terms: £3 a year for those taken between July 2024 and November 2025, and the Consumer Price Index plus 3.9% for anything before that. A Vodafone customer who has not re-signed since before July 2024 is still on an inflation-linked formula, which in April 2026 produced a rise of more than seven per hundred on the bill rather than a few pounds. BT moved off inflation linking for everyone, so it has no equivalent cohort. If you have been with Vodafone a long time without re-contracting, check which cohort you are in before you compare anything on this page.
One point of agreement worth recording. Vodafone charges no annual increase at all on its social tariff, or to customers registered as financially vulnerable. BT's Home Essentials is likewise outside the broadband increase. Both companies have decided that the households least able to absorb a rise should not get one, and neither makes much noise about it.
Our guide to in-contract price rises covers which providers raise prices before a contract ends and how, and out-of-contract prices covers what happens when a term ends.
Where Vodafone wins, and by how much
Direct answer: Vodafone holds the highest Trustpilot score of the seven largest providers we track, 4.7 out of 5, where BT has 3.9. The Which? panel scored Vodafone 67% against BT's 65%. Ofcom logged 8 complaints per 100,000 for Vodafone against 7 for BT, so BT leads on the regulator's measure. Vodafone's complaints rate has fallen from 11 per 100,000 to 8 in a year, the sharpest improvement in Ofcom's table, while BT's has gone from 11 to 7.
Vodafone 4.7 out of 5, BT 3.9 out of 5
the highest of the seven largest providers we track, from 4.7 out of 5 from 136,495 reviews on 26 July 2026 against 3.9 out of 5 from 30,460 reviews on 26 July 2026.
Vodafone 67%, BT 65%
From a survey of 5,235 people. Neither BT nor Virgin Media is a Which? Recommended Provider, which needs a score of at least 70% as well as a commitment to Ofcom's fairness schemes.
BT 7, Vodafone 8
Per 100,000 customers, against an industry average of 6. BT is ahead on the level and Vodafone on the trend.
Vodafone is ahead of BT on both reputation measures and behind it on the regulator's complaints rate, which is the usual pattern and this time it is worth reading the trend as well as the level. The three measures split the way they usually do, because they count different things: Ofcom's rate counts people who escalated as far as the regulator, the Which? score asks a representative panel how satisfied they are, and Trustpilot counts whoever felt moved to write. What makes this pairing unusual is the size of the Trustpilot gap, 4.7 out of 5 against 3.9 out of 5, which is the widest on any head-to-head in this series.
| Measure | Vodafone | BT | Better |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trustpilot | 4.7 out of 5 | 3.9 out of 5 | Vodafone |
| Which? customer score | 67% | 65% | Vodafone |
| Ofcom complaints per 100,000, broadband | 8 | 7 | BT |
| Ofcom complaints per 100,000, landline | 2 | 4 | Vodafone |
| Direction of travel | from 11 per 100,000 in Q1 2025 and 11 in Q4 2025 to 8 in Q1 2026, its lowest figure in the published series and the largest single-quarter improvement of any major provider | from 11 in Q1 2025 to 8 in Q4 2025 and 7 in Q1 2026 | Vodafone |
| Ofcom satisfaction with the service | Not reported separately | 85% | Only BT is tabled |
Two caveats, applied evenly. Trustpilot is the weakest of the four, because people who write a review unprompted are rarely the ones who had a quiet year. Vodafone has more than four times as many reviews as BT, which is what a mobile-led brand with a very large base produces and does not by itself make the score more reliable. On the other side, the row most worth weighting is the trend: Vodafone's complaints rate has fallen from 11 per 100,000 to 8 in a year, the sharpest improvement in Ofcom's table, while BT's has gone from 11 to 7. A provider improving that fast is doing something differently, and it is fair to say so rather than freezing it at last quarter's number.
Our complaints and your rights guide covers the process end to end, and The Complaints Floor looks at what happens to customers of providers too small for Ofcom to table at all.
What else comes with each
Direct answer: Vodafone charges nothing to set up a standard line and reimburses your old provider's exit fee up to £300. BT includes its security software free on every plan where Vodafone charges £2 a month on the standard range, and BT publishes a ceiling on the price after the term where Vodafone publishes nothing.
| Vodafone | BT | |
|---|---|---|
| Set-up | £0 on a standard new line | £10, cut from £30 and shown on the price list as a saving |
| Minimum term | 24 months | Up to 24 months on every plan |
| Router | Power Hub on the standard range, Ultra Hub 7 on Pro | Smart Hub 3 |
| Wi-Fi promise | Vodafone's Wi-Fi promise is a right to leave rather than a payout, and the bar is low: at least 10 Mbps in each room after all three boosters are installed, with 30 days from the third booster to act on it. | Complete Wi-Fi sends a new hub and a Wi-Fi disc, with up to two more free if needed, and pays £100 back if you still cannot get a signal everywhere in the house |
| Security included | Secure Net is free on Vodafone's Pro plans and £2 a month on the standard ones after a three-month trial, covering up to 128 devices with content filters and bedtime schedules. | Cyber Threat Protect, powered by Norton, is included with BT broadband at no extra cost |
| Price after the term ends | Not published | Capped, in BT's words: “After your contract ends your price will increase by no more than £5.” |
| Early termination | 80% of the monthly cost of your plan for every month left, after any discounts | the remaining amount you would have paid up to the end of your minimum period |
| Switching help | Vodafone advertises up to £300 of credit towards the fees your old provider charges, claimed after activation with proof of the final bill. | One Touch Switch, and BT tells your old provider |
The Wi-Fi row is the one where the two promises look similar and are not. BT's pays you: a hundred pounds back if it cannot get a signal everywhere after sending the kit. Vodafone's lets you out: no money, but a route to leaving the contract for nothing. The bar Vodafone sets is ten megabits in a room, against a headline that reaches 2.2 Gbps, and the window to act on it is thirty days from the third booster arriving. Miss that and the right lapses.
The row after it is the one BT wins outright. BT's price guide caps the increase when a term ends at five pounds. Vodafone publishes no equivalent figure for its standard plans, so a Vodafone customer who lets the contract roll is relying on the retention offer rather than on anything written down. On both providers the answer is the same: diarise the end date and act on it.
Our guide to exit fees and setup fees compares the cost at both ends of a contract, and switching broadband covers One Touch Switch from both ends.
Who should choose which
Direct answer: Vodafone on price, on reputation and on the network where it is symmetrical, which is most of the columns. BT on the speed promise and on the ceiling after the term, which is the column that matters if you are the household that would ever use it. The postcode decides more than either.
| If this is you | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| CityFibre or Community Fibre reaches you | Vodafone | Symmetrical up to 910 Mbps for £25 a month, which BT cannot sell at any price. |
| You want the lowest cost over the term | Vodafone | Vodafone is the cheaper of the two at every comparable tier, and the gap widens as the term runs because its annual rise is smaller. |
| You upload a lot and you are on Openreach | BT, narrowly | On the line these two share, BT's published upload is the higher of the pair: 73 Mbps at 500 Mbps against Vodafone's 68, and 49 Mbps at 300 against Vodafone's 27 at 150. |
| You want a guaranteed speed before you buy | BT | Vodafone has not signed Ofcom's voluntary code of practice on broadband speeds. BT has. Vodafone publishes no guaranteed minimum speed before you buy: the figure arrives afterwards, in the Service Confirmation Letter. |
| You expect to let the contract roll | BT | BT caps the rise after the term at five pounds; Vodafone publishes no ceiling. |
| You are on a disability or injury benefit | Vodafone | Vodafone accepts eight qualifying benefits against BT's five, adding Reduced Earnings Allowance, Personal Independence Payment and Disability Allowance. |
| You want the cheapest social tariff | BT | £16.50 against £20, for roughly half the speed. |
| Reputation matters most to you | Vodafone | Vodafone holds the highest Trustpilot score of the seven largest providers we track, 4.7 out of 5, where BT has 3.9. The Which? panel agrees, 67% against 65%. |
If none of those rows describes you, the tie-break is a question about yourself rather than about either company. Vodafone is cheaper by £93.76 over two years at the tier most households buy, and it asks you to take the speed on trust: no published figure, no deadline, and its own contract excludes full fibre from the speed-based exit right. BT charges the difference and writes the number down. Run the postcode before you read any further comparison of these two, because the network it returns changes the answer more than either brand does.
The third option this page would otherwise hide
Direct answer: On an Openreach line the choice is never only these two: the same cable carries a dozen other retailers, and the cheapest of them is usually cheaper than both. On our own table of 373 deals from 28 providers, read on 1 September 2026, entry prices ran between £23 and £34 a month with a median of £28, and the cheapest was £13.50 a month (4th Utility, 150 Mbps on CityFibre).
A head-to-head page has a built-in bias and it is worth naming rather than pretending otherwise. By setting two brands against each other it quietly asserts that those two are the choice, and at most addresses they are not. Where Openreach full fibre reaches, so do Sky, EE, Plusnet, TalkTalk, NOW, Zen and a dozen more, over 23.4 million premises as at 30 June 2026. And on the networks where Vodafone is symmetrical, so are the networks' own retail brands, which are often cheaper than Vodafone for the same symmetrical connection.
That does not make Vodafone and BT bad choices. Both are in Ofcom's automatic compensation scheme, which several cheaper providers are not, and BT has signed the speed code as well. For a lot of households those safety nets are worth the difference. But it should be a decision you make rather than one the page makes for you, which is why the comparison below is not filtered to these two alone.
Run the full comparison to see every provider at your address, or start from the cheapest deals, full fibre from every network or social tariffs.
Vodafone and BT deals at your postcode
See every provider at your address, not only these two
The two lists above are two brands on one Openreach line. The full comparison shows every provider we can switch you to at your postcode, lowest price first, including full fibre from every other network, the cheapest deals and social tariffs.
Show every provider at my postcode →Vodafone vs BT: frequently asked questions
Is Vodafone or BT cheaper?
Vodafone, at every tier we can match, and the gap grows as the term runs. At 500 Mbps Vodafone's 24-month total is £732 against BT's £825.76, a difference of £93.76. At the top it is £756 against £873.76, a difference of £117.76, and on CityFibre £684, which is £189.76 less than BT. Vodafone is the cheaper of the two at every comparable tier, and the gap widens as the term runs because its annual rise is smaller.
Does Vodafone really have symmetrical upload speeds?
On two of its three networks, yes, and Vodafone says so itself: In our CityFibre and Community Fibre areas, the upload and download speeds are the same. BT does not sell over either of those networks, so where they reach, the comparison is not close: Vodafone sells 2.2 Gbps both ways. So the useful question is not which brand has the better upload. It is which network reaches your address, and only a postcode answers that.
Which has the faster upload speed, Vodafone or BT?
On the Openreach line the two share, BT. For our Openreach plans: Full Fibre 150 is 27 Mbps and Full Fibre 500 is 68 Mbps. BT publishes 49 Mbps on Full Fibre 300 and 73 Mbps on Full Fibre 500. On the line these two share, BT's published upload is the higher of the pair: 73 Mbps at 500 Mbps against Vodafone's 68, and 49 Mbps at 300 against Vodafone's 27 at 150. The symmetrical speeds Vodafone advertises are real. They are on CityFibre and Community Fibre, which BT does not sell over at all, so at those addresses the comparison is not close. Vodafone publishes no upload figure at all for its other Openreach tiers, and none for the individual CityFibre or Community Fibre tiers.
Do Vodafone and BT guarantee a minimum speed?
BT does, in writing, on the page you buy from. Vodafone's promise is narrower than it looks. BT publishes a guaranteed minimum speed on every plan and calls the promise its Stay Fast Guarantee: if speeds are not back to normal within thirty days it will let you leave without an early cancellation fee. Vodafone has not signed Ofcom's voluntary code of practice on broadband speeds. BT has. Vodafone publishes no guaranteed minimum speed before you buy: the figure arrives afterwards, in the Service Confirmation Letter. Its contract says: “Should your sync speed continuously or regularly fall significantly below the minimum guaranteed speed set out in your Service Confirmation Letter, with the exception of Vodafone Fibre to the Home Broadband, please contact us.” So on Vodafone's full fibre, which is the range it advertises, that speed-based right to leave does not apply at all. The clause names no cure period either. It says you may leave if Vodafone is unable to resolve the issue, which leaves the timing open. Vodafone is in Ofcom's automatic compensation scheme, so late repairs, missed appointments and delayed starts still pay out without asking. It is the speed promise specifically that is missing.
Which network will I be on with Vodafone?
Only the postcode answers it, and it changes the deal. Vodafone sells over three fibre networks, Openreach, CityFibre and Community Fibre, and BT sells over one. It matters more than a technical detail, because the upload speed, the top tier and the price all change with the network while the tariff name does not. Vodafone does not name the network on any product page, so the only published way to tell before you order is the tier list you are offered. An 80 Mbps entry tier means CityFibre; a 74 Mbps one means Openreach or Community Fibre; a 2.2 Gbps tier is not Openreach at all.
Do Vodafone and BT raise prices during the contract?
Both do, and Vodafone's increase is the smaller. Vodafone's contract says: “Your monthly plan charge will increase by £3.50 each year on 1st April.” BT's is £4 a month, applied on 31 March 2027 and again on 31 March 2028, and BT prints both resulting prices beside every plan. That is 50p a month in Vodafone's favour, every year, and it is why the gap between them widens. Older Vodafone contracts are on different terms: £3 a year for those taken between July 2024 and November 2025, and the Consumer Price Index plus 3.9% for anything before that.
Which has better customer service, Vodafone or BT?
Vodafone on the two reputation measures, BT on the regulator's complaints rate, and the trend is the part worth reading. Vodafone holds the highest Trustpilot score of the seven largest providers we track, 4.7 out of 5, where BT has 3.9. The Which? panel scored Vodafone 67% against BT's 65%. Ofcom logged 8 complaints per 100,000 for Vodafone against 7 for BT, where the average is 6. Vodafone's complaints rate has fallen from 11 per 100,000 to 8 in a year, the sharpest improvement in Ofcom's table, while BT's has gone from 11 to 7. Trustpilot is the weakest of the four, because people who write a review unprompted are rarely the ones who had a quiet year.
What is the cheapest Vodafone or BT deal for someone on benefits?
BT is cheaper and Vodafone lets more people in. BT Home Essentials starts at £16.50 and BT Home Essentials is open to anyone on the qualifying benefits, whether or not they are already a BT customer. Vodafone Essentials is £20 a month for up to 80 Mbps on a 12-month contract, with no upfront fee and no mid-contract price rise. Vodafone accepts eight qualifying benefits against BT's five, adding Reduced Earnings Allowance, Personal Independence Payment and Disability Allowance. BT is cheaper at £16.50 and Vodafone is open to more people. For a household on Personal Independence Payment or Disability Allowance, Vodafone is the only one of the two that qualifies them at all. One thing to diarise on Vodafone's: If no action is taken, the price will increase to £25.
What happens to the price when a Vodafone or BT contract ends?
BT publishes a ceiling and Vodafone publishes nothing. BT's price guide says: “After your contract ends your price will increase by no more than £5.” BT's binding terms do not repeat the five pound cap. They say only that the core charge is subject to any future annual price increase once the minimum term ends. Vodafone gives no equivalent figure for its standard plans, though it does say what happens on its social tariff: If no action is taken, the price will increase to £25. On both, the answer is the same: diarise the end of the term and act on it.
What does it cost to leave Vodafone or BT early?
BT charges the remaining amount you would have paid up to the end of your minimum period. Vodafone charges 80% of the monthly cost of your plan for every month left, after any discounts, and publishes a worked example, with the fifth of the price that comes off being the VAT. Vodafone asks for 24 months on its standard plans and 30 days' notice to leave once the term has ended.
Is Vodafone's Wi-Fi guarantee any good?
It is a way out rather than a payout, and the bar is set low. Vodafone's Wi-Fi promise is a right to leave rather than a payout, and the bar is low: at least 10 Mbps in each room after all three boosters are installed, with 30 days from the third booster to act on it. BT's is the other shape: Complete Wi-Fi sends a new hub and a Wi-Fi disc, with up to two more free if needed, and pays £100 back if you still cannot get a signal everywhere in the house. Ten megabits in a room is a modest promise against a headline that reaches 2.2 Gbps, and the thirty-day window after the third booster is the part people miss.
Has the VodafoneThree merger changed Vodafone broadband?
Not the product you buy, so far. The merger completed on 31 May 2025 and home broadband is still sold under the Vodafone brand, on the same three fibre networks. What has changed is the range around it: Vodafone now also sells 5G home broadband for addresses full fibre has not reached, which is the fixed wireless half of the merged business. Nothing about the fibre tiers, the prices or the contract terms on this page turns on the merger.
In short
- Vodafone is the cheaper of the two at every comparable tier, and the gap widens as the term runs because its annual rise is smaller. At 500 Mbps that is £93.76 across 24 months, and at the top £117.76.
- Vodafone's annual rise is 50p a month smaller than BT's, so the gap widens every April.
- Vodafone sells over three fibre networks, Openreach, CityFibre and Community Fibre, and BT sells over one. It matters more than a technical detail, because the upload speed, the top tier and the price all change with the network while the tariff name does not.
- In our CityFibre and Community Fibre areas, the upload and download speeds are the same.
- For our Openreach plans: Full Fibre 150 is 27 Mbps and Full Fibre 500 is 68 Mbps. BT publishes 49 Mbps at 300 and 73 Mbps at 500 on the same line.
- On the line these two share, BT's published upload is the higher of the pair: 73 Mbps at 500 Mbps against Vodafone's 68, and 49 Mbps at 300 against Vodafone's 27 at 150.
- The symmetrical speeds Vodafone advertises are real. They are on CityFibre and Community Fibre, which BT does not sell over at all, so at those addresses the comparison is not close.
- Vodafone has not signed Ofcom's voluntary code of practice on broadband speeds. BT has. Vodafone publishes no guaranteed minimum speed before you buy: the figure arrives afterwards, in the Service Confirmation Letter. And its own contract carves full fibre out of the speed-based right to leave.
- The one thing BT sells that Vodafone does not is a figure on the card, a deadline to meet it, and a way out if it is missed. Vodafone is in Ofcom's automatic compensation scheme, so late repairs, missed appointments and delayed starts still pay out without asking. It is the speed promise specifically that is missing.
- Vodafone holds the highest Trustpilot score of the seven largest providers we track, 4.7 out of 5, where BT has 3.9. The Which? panel scored Vodafone 67% against BT's 65%, and Ofcom logged 8 complaints per 100,000 against BT's 7.
- BT is cheaper at £16.50 and Vodafone is open to more people. For a household on Personal Independence Payment or Disability Allowance, Vodafone is the only one of the two that qualifies them at all.
- Run the postcode before you read any further comparison of these two, because the network it returns changes the answer more than either brand does.
Each line stands on its own and carries its date. Reviewed by a person at least quarterly, last on 20 September 2026.
References
- Vodafone
Vodafone. (2026). Full fibre broadband, the published upload speeds and the sentence on where symmetrical speeds apply. vodafone.co.uk
- Vodafone
Vodafone. (2026). Broadband deals, the advertised prices and the two future prices beside them. vodafone.co.uk
- Vodafone
Vodafone. (2025, November). Home Broadband and Phone terms and conditions, clause 4.2 on the guaranteed speed and clause 4.5 on the annual increase. vodafone.co.uk
- Vodafone
Vodafone. (2026). Price changes, the £3.50 April increase and the social tariff exemption. vodafone.co.uk
- Vodafone
Vodafone. (2026). Essentials Broadband, the social tariff, its price, term and the eight qualifying benefits. vodafone.co.uk
- Vodafone
Vodafone. (2026). Broadband speed test, the Wi-Fi promise and the right to leave attached to it. vodafone.co.uk
- Vodafone
Vodafone. (2026). How is my early termination fee calculated, the formula and a worked example. vodafone.co.uk
- Vodafone
Vodafone. (2026). Secure Net, what is included and what it costs on each range. vodafone.co.uk
- VodafoneThree
VodafoneThree. (2025, June 12). Partnership with Community Fibre, the third network and the symmetrical speeds on it. vodafonethree.com
- BT
BT. (2026). Broadband deals, the six plan cards carrying each tier’s price, download, upload, guaranteed speed and two future prices. bt.com
- BT
BT. (2026, September 18). Consumer price guide, the five pound cap after a contract ends. bt.com
- BT
BT. (2026). Stay Fast Guarantee for Full Fibre, the guaranteed minimum speeds and the remedy. bt.com
- BT
BT. (2026). Home Essentials, the social tariff, its price and who qualifies. bt.com
- Ofcom
Ofcom. (2025, July 16). Codes of practice on broadband speeds, the residential signatory list that does not include Vodafone. ofcom.org.uk
- Ofcom
Ofcom. (2026, July 20). Automatic compensation, the member list, the join dates and the current rates. ofcom.org.uk
- Ofcom
Ofcom. (2026, July 23). Telecoms and pay TV complaints, Q1 2026, complaints per 100,000 customers and the trend. ofcom.org.uk
- Ofcom
Ofcom. (2026, August 17). Social tariffs, the list of every provider that runs one. ofcom.org.uk
- Which?
Which?. (2026). Best and worst broadband providers, customer scores from a 5,235 person survey. which.co.uk
- BroadbandSwitch.uk
BroadbandSwitch.uk. (2026). Vodafone broadband deals, our own hand-checked tier prices and the date each was verified. broadbandswitch.uk
- BroadbandSwitch.uk
BroadbandSwitch.uk. (2026). Broadband deals, checked by hand, the market median and range quoted here. broadbandswitch.uk
Ready to compare Vodafone and BT against everyone else at your address?
At most addresses these two are both selling the same Openreach line, alongside a dozen other retailers. One postcode shows you every provider that can reach you, lowest price first, including Vodafone and BT themselves.
Compare at your postcode →
The social tariffs, where cheaper is not the answer
Direct answer: BT is cheaper at £16.50 and Vodafone is open to more people. For a household on Personal Independence Payment or Disability Allowance, Vodafone is the only one of the two that qualifies them at all. Vodafone Essentials is £20 a month for up to 80 Mbps on a 12-month contract, with no upfront fee and no mid-contract price rise. BT Home Essentials starts at £16.50 and BT Home Essentials is open to anyone on the qualifying benefits, whether or not they are already a BT customer.
Both of these providers run a proper social tariff, which is more than several of their competitors manage, so the comparison is between two good options rather than one and a gap. On price BT wins: £16.50 against £20, and for the extra four pounds Vodafone gives roughly twice the speed, so which is better value depends on what the household actually needs rather than on the headline.
On eligibility Vodafone wins, and it is the row most likely to decide it. Vodafone accepts eight qualifying benefits against BT's five, adding Reduced Earnings Allowance, Personal Independence Payment and Disability Allowance. Those three additions matter because they are disability and injury benefits rather than income ones, so they reach households that BT's list does not, and for whom this is not a comparison but the only option.
One line on Vodafone's to diarise rather than worry about: If no action is taken, the price will increase to £25. You keep the tariff as long as you still qualify and Vodafone still offers it, but the move is not automatic, so the twelve-month mark is a date worth putting in a calendar the day you sign.
Our guide to social tariffs lists every provider that runs one, what it costs and who can apply.